The Devil Went Down to Georgia

Nearly all people are animated by some philosophical framework. Even those on the steep left slope of the bell curve view the world within some mental parameters. For many this being as fundamental as more gibs is more good. Though for those in the meat of the IQ distribution, finer points are often more compelling. And that’s not always fortunate.

For those intelligent enough to fashion a world-view, but not so cagey as to mold it to their interests, the values they hold dear are usually held dearer by their enemies. And when this continues long enough, the dupes eventually end up on civilizational milk cartons.

I support big business and Israel.  I'm anti-racist and donate money to my church to feed Africans and import refugees.  I think conservative values don't stop at the Rio Grande and that the constitution will protect me if they do.  I believe America needs a strong global military and a stronger Economy.  I'm a receding minority, my traditions are being defenestrated, and I have lost every cultural conflict for generations.  I have no idea why these things are true and no curiosity to learn.

I support big business and Israel. I’m anti-racist and donate money to my church to feed Africans and import refugees. I think conservative values don’t stop at the Rio Grande and that the constitution will protect me if they do. I believe America needs a strong global military and a stronger Economy. I’m a receding minority, my traditions are being defenestrated, and I have lost every cultural conflict for generations. I have no idea why these things are true and no curiosity to learn.

Let’s talk about just one of these today, conservative support for big business. It competes strongly with their philosemitism for society’s most unrequited affection. There is practically no pillar of conservative tradition defended by the merchant class, with one exception: support for merchants–at least one group understands value/interest alignment.

I have written recently on the NFL’s blitz of the proposed freedom of association bill in Georgia. Today, under a fusillade of corporate enmity, that state’s republican governor folded up his spine and pledged to veto a bill written and overwhelmingly supported by his own party and its voters. When was the last time a Democrat did this? Though what do Democrats have to do with corporate values?

What is so illuminating about this collective company flailing is how indirectly related profits are to the political positions of its executives. A theoretically profit-exclusive enterprise would remain neutral to cultural currents, choosing to inject itself into politics only where its financial franchise are threatened. And though they obviously seek a frictionless gender-merged mustard brown human uniformity, the immediate implications of the Georgia bill to revenues are nothing in comparison to the hysterical corporate reaction. Like its Republican Party front, it takes very little to induce the chamber of commerce to fling its friendly mask into a wall.

Though it’s not all for loss, Governor Deal remains as committed to his people’s values as he does their homosexuality.

His decision, he said, was “about the character of our state and the character of our people. Georgia is a welcoming state. It is full of loving, kind and generous people. … I intend to do my part to keep it that way. For that reason I will veto House Bill 757.”

That’s a more meandering way of saying: I’m owned by corporate donors. Yet still it’s heartening to hear how welcoming is Georgia. So much I’m sure that Governor Deal would eagerly host this year’s American Renaissance conference, where the above quote will be repeated in his keynote address.

Though as he has lowered himself to justification by such saccharine platitudes, I see no reason why to offer any other logic to every future decision. Why support an increase in the state sales tax? Why commission a relief of yourself on Stone Mountain? Why were you caught sucking the toes of a black transvestite?

Because Georgia is a welcoming state. It is full of loving, kind and generous people. I intend to do my part to keep it that way.

Apparently the millions of religious social conservatives who elected him to office aren’t quite as loving as those green slips of cotton and linen. But no one can claim the governor totally ignored his constituents.

A transgender man living in Decatur, Georgia, said it was “truly amazing” to hear Deal’s reason for vetoing the bill.

“It was clear that he not only listened to the opinions of constituents, but that he really took to heart the personal stories that were brought to his doorstep,” said James Parker Sheffield, 36. “As a lifelong resident of Georgia, I hoped for the veto, but never expected the heart that was put into the governor’s statement.”

See? It’s right there in black and white. Deal listened carefully to something called a ‘transgender man’ in Decatur and several out-of-state CEOs before issuing his from-the-heart statement. That’s serving your constituents faithfully. And they weren’t the only ones pleased.

Groups working to protect LGBT rights praised Deal’s decision.

“We thank Gov. Deal for doing the right thing,” said Matt McTighe, executive director for Freedom for All Americans. “The governor understands that while our freedom of religion is of critical importance, it doesn’t mean there’s a need for harmful exemptions that can lead to discrimination.”

It’s telling how few mainstream readers will even furrow a brow at such a comical statement. Freedom of religion is a thing of acknowledged “critical importance.” But that doesn’t mean it can’t go sailing out the window when some minuscule fringe minority isn’t keen on the results.

Oddly enough, the only expressed lucidity came from the university.

Bradley West, 18, a student at Kennesaw State University, said he didn’t think Deal really wanted to veto the bill but yielded to pressure from corporations.

“After the NFL threatened to never give Atlanta a Super Bowl, I knew the bill would never make it past Governor Deal’s desk,” he said

And there you are. A rapacious business class in opposition to every element of tradition applies its weight to a gelatinous republican, who yields with an embarrassing paean to love. That’s conservatism in one sentence. So lick those boots hard, cause hell’s broke loose in Georgia and the Devil deals the cards.

9 thoughts on “The Devil Went Down to Georgia

  1. [Georgia] is full of loving, kind and generous people.
    Not completely full, gov. There are lots of another kind of people there. I’d tell you who they are, but my asterisk key’s on the fritz.
    I think you’re onto something with the NFL and the Gov’s concern for black tranny prostitutes. Whenever I see the words Atlanta and Superbowl in the same sentence, only one thing comes to mind — that a black player was arrested on Superbowl Eve, for picking up a prossy in Atlanta. I think he was also a “pastor” off the field, which shocked the gullible and LOL’d everyone else.

  2. I love my dog and want to marry her. But the evil state dictators will not approve a license. I have money and lawyers. One told me if I could train my dog to do a Coca-Cola ad we would be married in a month. Another said it didn’t have to be my dog, just a good look alike. Another said some carefully applied spray paint would solve the lookalike problem. Still another told me that when Atlanta hosted a Super Bowl would be an ideal time to buy a spot. Then another told me I would have a better case if my dog was the same sex as me, while a partner of his suggested my dog become pregnant. I just want to say thank you America for welcoming me into your warm and loving country last year, where every hombre can see his dream come true.

  3. There are five large mosques in Atlanta. Should a half a dozen gay Jews show up for services at one of them some day, the truth of the Governor’s assertion might well be tested.

    • As soon as I got word of the capitulation, my thoughts went right to the 14th St. hive, thinking it would make for lovely rainbow nuptials.

  4. Pingback: The Devil Went Down to Georgia | Reaction Times

  5. Up in NC, our moral superiors are foaming at the mouth due to a recently passed bill that makes humans with a penis use the restrooms with urinals, and humans with a vagina use the restroom with tampon dispensers. I was pleasantly surprised that the governor signed the bill but have been left in shock after a few conversations with neighbors/acquaintances. Conversations with five different heterosexual, church-going white males resulted in 2 people for the bill and 3 against. When we can’t even agree on bathrooms we need to part ways.

    • I can’t believe you hate all other countries so much that you’d let one of them get stuck with him. Ah, never mind. The world can have our Prime Minstrel too.

Leave a Reply

